get some art in ya!

Welcome to Naked Impulse!
My name is Libby and lately I have been filled with the overwhelming desire to make a blog about ‘art’.
Actually, overwhelming desire are sorta the wrong words…it’s more like a naked itch, an obligational impulse to make a blog about ‘art’.
After all, knowledge should be free, right?
Right now, I study Art History and Classics in New Zealand…I gettit. Study‘The (Western) Greats’.
Let’s be honest, we all make art whether we’re aware of it or not.
But I suppose art with purpose/context/’impulse’ is something that is truthfully worth talking about.
The art world is filled with some form of snobiety, try-hards, squares, pretentious homo assholes, (need I go any further, people!) but so far, it hasn’t put me off.
Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy wanky art historian talk…I find essays fun and all that, I’ve left my lecturers baffled by my inner-Panofsky yet goddamn, it’s no way to get EVERYONE interested. Which we should be….
Understanding so many great artists across the ripples of time, throughout all of our history on this planet couldn’t be anything less than the study of life!
And fuck, can you possibly think of anything more incredible than that?
Mainly, Naked Impulse is obviously gonna feature art I like…things I find relevant or interesting etc.
My posts won’t always be huge academic essay styles but are hopefully exciting, heartfelt and thoughtful responses that are also totally open for discussion!

Here is a taster of what to expect/artefacts and paintings I’m generally into:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From our homo sapien cave-dwelling ancestors right up to current day Neanderthals (big span of time to get your head around)…through art, I have come to realise people are always gonna be the same, no matter how advanced our tools get. As people, we demand to be heard!
When art is at sucha level; the indescribable, the ephemeral, the impulse, raw and pure in your face made visible…it has, what I believe is most important, the power to move you as distinct individuals across cultures. Only pure truth can do something like that! And as a part of this continuum we find ourselves in, artists have realised the potential to change history rather than passively documenting. So be moved! Want change!
In an age that is so visual, it seems we have forgotten how to use our eyes and how to read art, all of us driven blind after being prescribed tasteless sex and murder all the freaking time!
The more I realise and understand awesome paintings and movements, the less alone I feel in my thoughts…and yo! maybe if there are enough people out there who really care, then change is possible.
I’m still coming to terms with the bittersweet beauty and pain of it all, that my favourite works illuminate in their naked, blazing visions.
So get some art in ya!
Peace.

Leave a Reply

